Early Years Learning FrameworkIMG_4690

The educational programs at Canossa Kindergarten are underpinned by “Belonging, Being and Becoming”, the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) in Australia.

EYLF is the Australian Government’s national framework for early childhood education, and it is the key component of the National Quality Framework (NQF) that has been designed to encourage continuous improvement of education and care in all services throughout Australia.

The EYLF defines the principles, practices and outcomes to every early learning program and is designed to ensure all children from birth to five years and beyond will receive high quality learning experiences.

The EYLF has a strong emphasis on play-based learning, whilst also recognising the importance of communication and language and social and emotional development through the following learning outcomes:

  1. Children have a strong sense of identity
  2. Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  3. Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  4. Children are confident and involved learners
  5. Children are effective communicators

Canossa Kindergarten provides specialized Kindergarten and preschool programs designed for children aged 3 to 5 and are developed in accordance with EYLF. These programs are taught by qualified early childhood educators and bachelor-qualified teachers.

As part of this specialized program, children are engaged in play based learning to develop early literacy and numeracy concepts and communication skills which will help their reading and writing abilities and give each child the important skills needed to help them enter school with confidence.

Queensland Kindergarten Learning Guideline

The Queensland Kindergarten Learning Guideline (QKLG) was developed in 2010 for children in the kindergarten year. It provides kindergarten teachers with advice about developing plans for teaching, learning and assessment of children 3½–4½ years in the year prior to Prep. The QKLG is aligned to the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) for Australia.